Skip to main content


Color photograph of Foro plaza with 7 eight foot tall monitors visible

Founding Director

As the founding director of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Latino, Jorge Zamanillo provides leadership and strategic direction for the museum.

In addition, he guides the museum’s comprehensive plan to preserve, document, display/interpret and promote knowledge of U.S. Latino history, art and culture.

Director's Biography

Click to expand image Headshot of Jorge Zamanillo wearing a light blue shirt and dark gray coat.
Credit: Rodrigo Nuno
Jorge Zamanillo, Museum Director

Board of Trustees

The board of trustees of the National Museum of the American Latino advises the museum director and Smithsonian Leadership on key decisions relating to the museum’s development, and partners with the institution on outreach and fundraising efforts.  

The 19-member board includes 13 citizens appointed by the Board of Regents, the Smithsonian Secretary and Under Secretary for Museums and Culture, the chair of the Smithsonian Latino Center advisory board, one member of the Regents, and two members of Congress. 

The members appointed to the board of trustees are: 

  • Lonnie G. Bunch III, Secretary of the Smithsonian (ex officio) 
  • Kevin Gover, the Smithsonian's Under Secretary for Museums and Culture (ex officio) 
  • Margarita Paláu-Hernández, chair of the Smithsonian National Latino Board 
  • Franklin D. Raines, member of the Smithsonian Board of Regents 
  • Raul A. Anaya, president of business banking for Bank of America 
  • José Andrés, restaurateur, chef, and owner of ThinkFoodGroup; creator of World Central Kitchen 
  • Emilio Estefan, Grammy Award-winning musician, songwriter, and TV producer; co-founder of the Gloria Estefan Foundation 
  • José E. Feliciano, co-founder and managing partner of Clearlake Capital Group LP., a leading private investment firm 
  • Rick Gomez, executive vice president and chief food and beverage officer for Target Corp. 
  • Alberto Ibargüen, president and CEO of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; former publisher of the Miami Herald and El Nuevo Herald 
  • Eva Longoria, award-winning actor and producer; founder of the Eva Longoria Foundation 
  • Dr. J. Mario Molina, principal of JM Molina Investments; former CEO of Molina Healthcare 
  • Henry R. Muñoz III, businessman; former chair of the National Museum of the American Latino Commission 
  • Soledad O'Brien, award-winning journalist; anchor and producer for Matter of Fact with Soledad O'Brien; founder and CEO of Soledad O'Brien Productions 
  • José Luis Prado, executive advisor partner with Wind Point Partners; former president of Quaker Oats North America 
  • Alfredo Rivera, president of Coca-Cola North America 
  • Sofía Vergara, Emmy-nominated actress, television producer, presenter, and philanthropist 

The members of Congress appointed to the board are: 

  • Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA), appointed by the Congressional Hispanic Conference 
  • Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), appointed by the Congressional Hispanic Caucus 
Back to Top